Skip to content

NFL Playoffs Timeline

This episode we fire up the DeLorean and head back to learn about the timeline of NFL Playoffs.  After the 1932 ad-hoc NFL title game, league officials decided it would be good business to have an annual Championship Game to determine the alpha team of the season.  Through the years this morphed into what the current format of 12 teams making the playoffs each year.  This episode guides you through the timeline to see how the NFL morphed from a regular season standing champion to what it is today.  So strap on your seat belt, and let’s get ready to take this baby up to 88mph.




Connect with the show:




Are you interested in sharing your favorite football moment on the show?  This is your chance to share your story with all my listener’s.

Click here to share your favorite football moment

Below are some relevant items to this episode.  (Note – As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases)

About the author, Arnie Chapman

My name is Arnie Chapman, and I am the host of The Football History Dude, a podcast dedicated to teaching fans about the rich history of the NFL. The show officially launched on 4/15/18, and I have not looked back. I have always been passionate about football, and learning about the history of the game has intrigued me, as well. I'm asking you to come along with me on my DeLorean to travel back in time and learn about the yesteryear of the gridiron. To get started, you can go to my website for more details.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll To Top